Life After Launch

I have been a published author for a full week which qualifies me to observe that the old uneasy feeling of handing my precious manuscript over to my husband or my writing group and then WAITING for the verdict, now seems cozy and quaint, compared to the dizzy sensation of surrendering 40,000 copies to the United States of America, its territories and possessions, the Philippines, Canada, and the rest of the world, with the exception of countries listed on Schedule A, and WAITING for the verdict.   

Regardless, it has been a full week and although it was great fun to be surrounded by family and friends on my book’s big day, the party’s over and, as one of my sons pointed out yesterday, we still have no bread.  Now that the book is out in the world where she will have to rely on her merits to survive, it is time to resume grocery shopping, address maintenance issues deferred for the last five years, and lower the boom on homework procrastinators.  And promote the book.  Although they claim to love their new “sister”, one family member asked when are we gonna get all these books out of the living room?…  (She’s not going back to the hospital).

Many thanks to all who joined me at Borders for the launch event.  You honored me with your presence.  And thanks to Bob Jones who provided pictures to share with those who are far away.  For more pictures, click the Facebook badge to the right of this post and check out photos on the My Jane Austen Summer Facebook page.

Released!

 

Surrounded by friends and family

The bookstore is only 4.7 miles from home but it took 10 years to get there!
12 Comments

Filed under Cindy Jones, launching things, My Jane Austen Summer, teenagers

12 responses to “Life After Launch

  1. ellenandjim

    Just to say I’m rereading it and will write a blog when I’ve done. E.M.

  2. Lovely pictures from your book launch. I have your book on my wishlist at Amazon.ca They say there are only 2 copies left (but more are on the way).

  3. What a great beginning! Love that you noted “took 10 years to get there.” Worth every minute. Congratulations!

  4. Hi Jessica!
    They say getting there is half the fun. Only half??

  5. Congrats, Cindy!!
    I know how long it takes to get to that bookstore…well done ;).

  6. Congrats, Cindy! Looks like you have had a fantastic first week! Best of luck!

  7. Celia Prehn

    Birthing books is like birthing babies in another way which nobody mentions: once they are out, there is no putting them back in! You go Girl!

Leave a Reply

