Birthday Denial and Blog Launch

Mature Debut Author

Today is my 52nd birthday.  Certain aspects of me are indeed that old, and I believe I have satisfied my lifetime quota of dating, diaper changing, and agent queries (fingers crossed, knock on wood).  My children are growing more self-sufficient (all things relative) and I foresee a time when I can cook with spices and leave town.  But I don’t feel like surrendering my youth now, or any time in the foreseeable future.    

This is not to be confused with a midlife crisis.

The real reason I can’t afford to be old is that my new career starts this year.  As I age, my novel grows closer to its own birthday. MY JANE AUSTEN SUMMER: A SEASON IN MANSFIELD PARK will be released by William Morrow/Harper Collins on March 29, 2011.  Who will take care of it and make sure it thrives in the world?  I have to stop aging.  Rather than resting on my contract, I have ten minutes to learn to blog, tweet, and Facebook like a writer half my age while writing the next novel and supervising homework.  My grandmother said her spirit was the same at 90 as at 14.  First Reader (aka Husband) says I’m exaggerating and 52 is not old.  He’s 59 and, according to him, 60 is the new 40. 

So that makes me 32.

On the occasion of my birthday, I hereby embrace Denial and commit myself to this blog: First Draft.  Here, I will scale the WordPress learning curve to share the true stories of a mature debut author: the ten grinding years preceding anything good, the agony and ecstasy of all things authorial, and my bodice-ripping love affair with books.  I hope to support and encourage readers and writers on their own journey, especially those with homework to supervise or a seasoned perspective.  Just bear with my aging synapses.  What’s a widget, anyone?

16 Comments

Filed under launching things, My grandmother said..., My Jane Austen Summer, The business of writing...

16 responses to “Birthday Denial and Blog Launch

  1. Caroline

    Very nice! Well written and very interesting comparison–your first blog is definitely a success! You must be so excited, especially with the release in the next year. Any news on your other book?

    • Thank you, Caroline. Yours was the very first comment on my very first blog. I think you must have won a prize. How about an advance copy of My Jane Austen Summer? (When I get one).

  2. jlspsi

    Hubby is right. 60 is the new 40 and I may be “40” before I finish the first draft of anything I’ve started. I am so glad you’ve created a cyber “space” (we can blame HGTV for the fact that no one has rooms anymore, we all have spaces now–this is also why I’m not finishing that first draft…hmmm) for the over 50 parent/have another career, too/fill-in-the-blank writer. Best of luck. I look forward to your musings. And, happy birthday! Wine, anyone?

  3. As a writer over 60 (it does happen, shockingly quickly), I take comfort in Jane Austen’s saying:
    “By the bye, as I must leave off being young, I find many Douceurs in being a sort of Chaperon for I am put on a Sofa near the Fire & can drink as much wine as I like.” She wrote that at 38, by the way…though sadly closer to the end of her life than I hope we are to ours.

    My other mantra is, “Writers over 60 are exempt from having to Twitter.” The world can just bloody live with that, because I’m going to! Maybe I’ll be able to write more books, that’s an open question; but if I Twitter, it’s a dead certainty I’ll never write another book because it will cause me to entirely lose my mind, sanity, values, humor, and everything else that makes me a reasonable human being. Erp. Just saying…

    • Diana, I’m thrilled to see you here! And so glad to hear of your position on Twittering. I’m seriously hoping to join your boycott…on the sofa with wine! Thank you for reading my baby blog!

  4. Kay

    I am going to love your blog, Cindy. Wish I were in town to bring you a bottle of bubbly to celebrate.

  5. jlspsi

    Did you know that WordPress is a free app for the iPhone? It looks like it’s for the owner of the blog. This info was in the Dallas Morning News Travel section this morning.

    • I have the iphone app and it allowed me to moderate comments on the road. But I couldn’t figure out how to reply from my phone without use of a microscope, which is part of the learning curve and why I’m late replying. I’m home.

  6. Debby

    Congratulations! And Happy Birthday!! Having been privy to years of your writing, I know that subscribing to this blog is going to be . . . hmmm . . . delicious. Best wishes on the novel’s launch! I can’t wait.

  7. Donna

    Happy Birthday – a little late. We are all cheering you and your book forward. We are so excited for you. I have letters from you when I was young – I promise I won’t sell them on eBay. Expecting a copy and a book club appearance.

  8. Annie Foster

    Cindy
    Blog and excerpts are great. I love the pictures, especially the rare one of teenager in nature. Unlike Kay I am in town and I do have cold champayne. Unfortunately, there are less than 48 hours before I have to go back to work summer is over… When can we start planning the book is published party? Your Art Pal – Annie

  9. I hope you spend your last 48 hours of summer doing something fun involving cold champagne. I, on the other hand, will be driving a freshman to Fish Camp and forcing summer readers to the finish line. Thanks for reading!

Leave a Reply

